India’s next new PM

(The title is meant to read like a TV show heading, America’s next top model…)

The polls are in and very soon we will know who comes to power, the party that is riding on the guy with questionable morals, the party with a 45 year old baby or the lost ones who have activism and administration confused.
This has been a very confusing elections, the most informed yet undecided I have ever been.
I have lived in Gujarat for three years, I have to admit that all of the development is not imaginary but neither is the gheto – ization of a certain community.
I cannot be blind either to the decadal corruption or the missed opportunity. One cannot in my opinion throw away lightly being the CM of a state.
To make things clearer we had mock elections at the work place. Parties were formed manifestos released and we had a real fun debate where everything from free sanitary napkins to the number of times one can change their name were thrashed. It was a farce, the party with the best speaker won, a charismatic young man dressed in blue, impersonating ambedkar. Sigh…
Elsewhere in the country, stronger darker forces were at play.

Anyways I booked my tickets and took off to Chennai to go and vote. Since I was so unsure I decided not to tell anyone whom I voted for..it is personal after all.
At the voting booth my parents, who have been swept by the Modi wave urged me to vote for BJP, and we ended up having a heated argument on the regressive society that it may result in. The Other and I have been arguing politics for months now.

I went in voted, waited till the light went off before stepping out with a smug smile. I had cast my vote, I had done my bit but I was not going to share it.

These are the conversations I had after that;

Dad : you have wasted your vote, I am sure you voted for the thodapa Kutchi ( broomstick) and you need to be hit with one.

Me: Smug smile

Mom : you have wasted you vote, I am sure you spent 2000 Rs. to come here and vote for NOTA

Me: Smug smile

The Other : You must have voted for the mass murderer, that is why you aren’t telling, you are ashamed !

Me: Smug smile

Cousin PC : You must have voted for the hand, that is why you aren’t telling, you are ashamed !

Me: Smug smile

Lady who gives me coffee at work : Madam, you voted for amma right ? I did

Me: I dont want her to take away my coffee, so smile and slight shake of the head, an almost nod 🙂

Who I voted for shall die with me 🙂

Published by: aninsightfulnut

I am quite the wave rider, have surfed through life quite happily. From school, to college and work and college again and work work work .. and now I am afraid I am running out of waves... and hence the blog. I spend my lunch breaks reading quite a few, and have been itching to join the band wagon. Plus my favourite bloggers all have lives and don't write as often as I read :)

Categories growing upTags1 Comment

One thought on “India’s next new PM”

Leave a Reply

